Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, or LEED, is a building
certification process developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), a non-profit
organization (not a government agency) headquartered in Washington,

The USGBC developed the LEED certification process to enhance
environmental awareness among architects and building contractors, and to
encourage the design and construction of energy-efficient, water-conserving
buildings that use sustainable or green resources and materials.

The LEED certification process uses a point system to determine the
environmental merits of a building; there are different rating systems for
homes, commercial buildings, interior renovations, schools, neighborhood
developments, and other construction projects.

For most projects, there are four levels of LEED certification, depending on
how many points the project has earned: certified, silver, gold or platinum.
According to the USGBC, there are nine key areas measured by LEED:
 Sustainable Sites

 Water Efficiency 
 Energy and Atmosphere
Materials and Resources
Indoor Environmental Quality
Location and Linkages
Awareness and Education
Innovation in Design
Regional Priority

Eastwood Elementary will be a silver certified school. 

Comments are closed.